Home FEATURES IPL 2020: Five contenders to win the orange cap

IPL 2020: Five contenders to win the orange cap

IPL 2020
Picture Source: Twitter

After a long wait we are here to experience yet another amazing season of IPL which will be full of excitement and thrills where all the 8 teams will be playing with full spirit in race to lift the IPL trophy. This will be the 13th season of IPL, a professional T20 league that was started by the BCCI in 2007.

The tournament was originally expected to start from 29 March 2020, but got suspended due to this Covid-19 pandemic situation. On 2 August 2020, it was officially announced that the tournament will take from 19th September to 10th November 2020 in UAE. After that, the full IPL fixtures were announced.

On 18th August, the Fantasy League platform Dream11 were titled as the official sponsor of IPL after VIVO being pulled out. They were selected from the highest bid of Rs222 crore (US$31 million) crore for IPL 2020. And soon after that Indian online education institution Unacademy has been named an official partner of IPL till 2022.

Some Latest Updates this season:

As we all know that the IPL auction was fun to watch as the same level of excitement was maintained as it is observed every year as the fans were excited to see some new additions to their favorite team. Here are some of the updates that we will observe this season:

Pat Cummins became the most expensive player, purchased by the Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 15.5 crore. Piyush Chawla, on the other hand, became the most expensive Indian player to be sold at Rs 6.75 crore. Royal Challengers Bangalore has brought Adam Zampa as a replacement for Kane Richardson. Mumbai Indians have replaced fast bowler James Pattinson as a replacement for Lasith Malinga.

Here’s a list of the most expensive players for each team:

  1. Pat Cummins – Kolkata Knight Riders sold for 15.5 crore
  2. Glenn Maxwell – Kings XI Punjab sold for 10.75 crore
  3. Chris Morris – Royal Challengers Bangalore sold for 10 crore
  4. Sheldon Cottrell – Kings XI Punjab sold for 8.5 crore
  5. Nathan Coulter-Nile – Mumbai Indians sold for 8 crore
  6. Shimron Hetmyer – Delhi Capitals sold for 7.75 crore
  7. Piyush Chawla – Chennai Super Kings sold for 6.75 crore
  8. Sam Curran – Chennai Super Kings – 5.5 crore
  9. Eoin Morgan – Kolkata Knight Riders – 5.25 crore

We will be excited to see the race for the purple cap and orange cap holders. Last year we observed that David Warner become the orange cap holder scoring a total of 692 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2019 where KL Rahul, Quinton de Kock, Shikhar Dhawan and some other players were in the race to earn the orange cap.  And at the same time Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings was the purple cap holder for IPL 2019 season taking 26 wickets.

The same way we will observe to form for the orange cap as the players will showcase their talent to gain the orange cap for the 2020 IPL season.

Here are some of the players that can challenge the orange cap holding title.

#5 Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer
Picture Source: Twitter

The Delhi Capital joined the race last year in order to win the Orange Cap for the 2019 IPL season where he managed to score 463 runs at an average of 30.67 in 16 matches.

Shreyas Iyer was one of the reasons Delhi Capital managed to secure the 3rd place in the IPL season 12. He is the man who well adjusted in the number 4 batting order for the Indian cricket team.

#4 Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Picture Source: Twitter

Rohit Sharma the Mumbai Indians skipper holds the record of the most number of IPL titles (4). Mumbai Indians seems to be the most balanced side to win the title this season in UAE.

He is considered one of the finest openers of all time. Last season Rohit Sharma managed to score 405 runs with an average of 28.93 in 15 matches. But still, he has not won the orange cap in the IPL career so far. So this year with the increased confidence, Rohit is determined to win his cap this time.

#3 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli
Picture Source: Twitter

Winner of the orange cup in the 2016 season of IPL where he managed to score 973 runs, Kohli will once again hope to earn the orange cup and create chances for Bangalore to win the cup title.

Last season Kohli entered the race for the orange cup scoring 464 runs with an average of 33.14. He also remains the top-scoring player in the T20 league with a record of 5412 runs to his name.

#2 KL Rahul

KL Rahul
Picture Source: Twitter

The Karnataka keeper-batsman just finished behind David Warner to gain the orange cup with a score of 593 runs on an average of 53.91 in 14 matches in the last IPL season. With an additional responsibility as a captain of Kings XI Punjab, Rahul will be in the spotlight this season too.

He is one of the most consistent batsmen across the world. Seeing the current form, KL Rahul is expected to steal the show from David Warner and earn the orange cap this IPL season.

#1 David Warner

David Warner
Picture Source: Twitter

David Warner remains the number 1 choice for fans to yet again repeat the history for winning the orange cap. Last IPL season David Warner became the orange cap winner scoring 692 runs with an average of 69.2.

The leader of the orange army has been holding on the orange cup for quite some time now becoming the only person to win the orange cup thrice (in 2015 with 562 runs, in 2017 with 641 runs and 2019 with 692 runs). We’ll hope that the same level of spirit is maintained this season too.

These are some of the choices that can challenge the orange cup title unless some new faces emerge to beat them. This year IPL will be played without fans but let’s hope that the same level of excitement is maintained this season too.

Previous articleA Brief on the Delhi Captials – Cracking the Capitals’ Code
Next articleA Brief on the Chennai Super Kings – The Kings Of The South

Leave a Reply