Home CRICKET A Brief on the Sunrisers Hyderabad- Orange Army’s Road Ahead

A Brief on the Sunrisers Hyderabad- Orange Army’s Road Ahead


Dream 11 IPL 2020 beckons! Just a few days to go for the ultimate cricketing showdown. Today we will take a look into the team from the city of Char Minar and Biryani. Yes, it’s the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The team from Hyderabad gained tremendous popularity as Deccan Chargers in the initial years of the IPL and were spearheaded by Adam Gilchrist and Rohit Sharma then. They won the IPL in its second edition. However , Gilchrist retiring and Rohit Sharma transferred to Mumbai Indians, the team found itself in turmoil for the next few years, only to be revived through a complete turnover when the brand name changed.

Image Courtesy : Twitter.com

The team underwent a complete change of face. The dynamic Aussie David Warner and the Kiwi sensation Kane Williamson have led the team quite successfully for the last few years managing to win the IPL once and reaching the Play-Offs almost every year. The team also got a new song named ‘Go Go Go, Orange Army’ and gathered a huge fan following. The bowling attack of the team also has been up to the mark for the past few years and is being successfully led by one of India’s most talented bowlers, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. With this backdrop, let’s see how the team lines up this year.

The Opening Pair  : The Sunrisers have retained the opening pair of their previous IPL season. So it is most likely that Jonny Bairstow and David Warner will open for the Sunrisers. Both of them were in tremendous form in IPL 2019 and have been a very reliable opening pair. Both of them have scored more than 1100 runs between them in the last season. Their strike rates are also pretty impressive with Warner averaging at over 140 last season. Jonny Bairstow will also be the go to wicketkeeping choice for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Image Courtesy : Twitter.com

The Middle Order : The Sunrisers Hyderabad have a plenty of options in the middle order. Kane Williamson will mostly play at number 3. He will be followed by Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar. Since the number of foreign players are restricted, possibly Mohammad Nabi could also be chosen in place of Williamson in a few matches because of his all-round skills. The inclusion of Mitchell Marsh in the team makes the choice a bit difficult. Mitchell Marsh has been in great form in Australia’s ongoing series against England and is a good all rounder. Nabi might lose out on his position to Marsh. Abhishek Sharma will play at number 6.

The Bowling Department : The pace attack will be spearheaded by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar in partnership with Sandeep Sharma or Khaleel Ahmed. The spin department will be headed by Rashid Khan as has proven to be successful in the past few seasons. Abhishek Sharma has proven his mettle representing India in the under-19 WC. On the pitches where the ball does not turn much, Billy Stanlake will be preferred over Rashid Khan. Shahbaz Nadeem is also a good spin option. Siddharth Kaul is also an option for the pace department. But considering his past performance , his selection doesn’t seem likely.

Image Courtesy : Twitter.com

Overall, the Orange Army is pretty much balanced. It wouldn’t be a huge surprise if they make it to the Play-Offs this season as well. Let’s see what we have in store. Until then, enjoy your biryani and stay tuned .

Also Read: A Brief on the Chennai Super Kings – The Kings Of The South

Previous articleLights – Cameras – Kick-Off ! Welcome Back Premier League!
Next articleBowlers day out at Old Trafford in an England triumph

Leave a Reply