Home CRICKET IPL (Indian Premier League) IPL 2020: All you need to know about the ‘transfer window’

IPL 2020: All you need to know about the ‘transfer window’


This year’s IPL 2020 allows capped players to be traded amongst teams through the transfer window.

Once Match 28 between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders concludes the Indian Premier League shall reach it’s halfway stage as all the teams will have played 7 matches each. The concept of ‘transfer window’ is taken from the football world which allows utilizing services of under-used players in their original teams.

How will the IPL 2020 Transfer Window work?

The transfer window will be activated from 13th October (Tuesday) and will last for five days. The important thing to note here is that the players who are traded should not have played more than 2 games for their original teams till the halfway mark of the tournament.

The previous edition of the IPL allowed trading of uncapped players only and for this edition, the franchises can exchange both capped and uncapped players as well as the foreign players in this time period.


Nathan Coulter-Nile in the nets
(Image Source: mumbaiindians.com)

Reason for the introduction of the transfer window:

As we reach the halfway stage, the franchises that have a well-settled squad do not prefer to make much of chopping and changing and they are under-used and mostly unused by their original teams. Thus, it creates an opportunity for those players to play for other teams who are in need of those skills.

For example, the talent like Nathan Coulter-Nile has not been used by the Mumbai Indians, and they look quite settled with their bowling unit. The addition of Trent Boult through pre-season trading and James Pattinson coming in as a replacement for Lasith Malinga has made the MI bowling line up stronger than ever before.

The following is a selective list of players as on October 10 who will be up for grabs:

Kings XI Punjab — Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, M Ashwin

Mumbai Indians — Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aditya Tare, Mohsin Khan

Chennai Super Kings — Imran Tahir, N Jagadeesan, Mitchell Santner

Royal Challengers Bangalore — Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Dale Steyn, Umesh Yadav

Rajasthan Royals — Manan Vohra, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Varun Aaron, Andrew Tye

Delhi Capitals — Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma

SunRisers Hyderabad — Wriddhiman Saha, Vijay Shankar

Kolkata Knight Riders — Sandeep Warrier, Tom Banton, Nikhil Naik

Previous article2019-20 NBA Championship: Los Angeles Lakers beat Miami Heat to clinch their 17th NBA title
Next articleIPL 2020: Orange Cap and Purple Cap standings at the halfway mark

Leave a Reply