Home TEAMS AUSTRALIA BCCI to announce 32-member squad for the Australia tour soon

BCCI to announce 32-member squad for the Australia tour soon


The Indian Team will tour Australia after the 13th season of the Indian Premier League. The IPL 2020 season is currently being played in the United Arab Emirates. For this tour, BCCI will announce a 32-member squad that will play the series across all formats in Australia.

Due to the threat of world pandemic, COVID 19, BCCI is planning to announce such a big team, and with that, another rule made by the board is that the team members cannot take their families with them.

Image Source: Twitter.com

BCCI selection committee has formed such a big squad of 32 members because they will need reserved players for Australia’s tour. The board will be ready to replace any member in the playing XI if an injury or a niggle occurs.

The board will also conduct intrasquad warm-up matches with such a large pool of players. A total of 50 members are expected to tour Australia, which also includes the support staff members.

Sourav Ganguly, the President of the BCCI said that he has received a proposal from the Australian Cricket Board. India will start Australia’s tour with the three-match series in the shortest format on 26th November 2020.

Then this tour moves ahead with the match series in the 50 over format, and the last part of the tour will the longer and the traditional form. India will also play their first away Pink Ball test match, and this will also be the first time India will play a Day-Night Test match on Australian soil.

The team members who will not be included in the test series will be sent back home soon. The other players like Chesteshwar Pujara and Hanuma Vihari, who were not playing the IPL, the BCCI may conduct practice matches for them in the UAE.

India will leave for Australia directly from UAE after the IPL 2020 season ends on 10th November 2020. The Indian players’ wives will have to return to India because the board has not permitted them to travel with their husbands to Australia.

The government has also given the green single for India to tour Australia. India’s first two stops in Australia would be in Sydney and Canberra after the Australian government has allowed the players from India and Australia to quarantine in Sydney with access training facilities after the IPL.

The Australian government has set some quarantine protocols, but still, the confirmation and approval are pending from the BCCI. India’s tour will start at Sydney Ground Cricket with two matches in the 50 over format on 27th November Friday and 29th November Sunday.

Then, the last and the final ODI of the three-match series will be played on Tuesday, 1st December 2020, and the first one-day international match will be played on Friday, 4th December 2020 at Canberra Oval.

The two teams will travel again to the Sydney Cricket ground for the final two matches which will be played on Sunday, 6th December, and Tuesday, 8th December 2020 to play the final two matches of the shortest format.

India’s first-ever Pink Ball Test match on Australian soil is scheduled to be played at the Adelaide Oval from Thursday, 17th December to Monday, 21st December 2020. Melbourne’s MCG was the first choice to host the Boxing Day Test match. But due to the COVID 19 pandemic situation Adelaide will be the venue that will host the second Test match from Saturday, 26th to Wednesday, 30th December 2020.

The final two Test matches of the four-match Test series will be played at Sydney from Thursday, 7th to Monday, 11th January 2021, and Brisbane from Friday, 15th to Tuesday, 19th January 2020.


Also Read: England will tour South Africa after the completion of IPL 2020

Previous articleUEFA Champions League – Match Day 1 Wednesday Review
Next articleMarcus Rashford MBE – Talented on the pitch, a Legend off it

Leave a Reply