Home CRICKET Women’s T20 Challenge – Velocity win the opening game against Supernovas

Women’s T20 Challenge – Velocity win the opening game against Supernovas


The third edition of the curtain-raiser, Women T20 Challenge was played between Velocity and Supernovas in Sharjah yesterday. In match one of the tournament, Velocity won against Supernovas by five wickets.

ekta bisht velocity vs supernovas
Image Source: Twitter.com

Mithali Raj won the toss and Velocity opted to bowl first in this opening encounter. The openers Priya Punia and Athapaththu started the innings on a decent note. They shared a stand of 30 runs in 5.2 overs. But Priya Punia was the first one to go with just 11 runs to name. The Velocity team were successful, and they broke this stand after the Supernovas members lost wickets at regular intervals. After two overs, Ekta Bisht thrashed the stumps, Jemimah Rodrigues, for just seven runs.

Then Athapaththu and the skipper Harmanpreet Kaur tried to steady the ship. Athapaththu was well set; she could have taken the score to a more significant margin. But the velocity bowlers struck once again as they again successfully dismissed the well-set batsmen for 41 runs. Supernovas reached the hundred run mark with Skipper Harmanpreet and Siriwardene at the crease. Kaur again tried to build another partnership with Siriwardene, which could have helped Supernovas to put a decent total on the board.

After the dismissal of well set Athapaththu, Skipper Harmanpreet perished for the score of 31 runs. The wicket of their captain Kaur triggered a collapse as the batsmen of Supernovas couldn’t do much after their skipper was out for 31 runs. Only Siriwardene managed to score runs in the double figures. But the rest of the batsmen of the Supernovas team were out in the single-digit score as Sushma Verma ran out Siriwardene for 18 runs.

In the end, Supernovas scored a modest total of 126 runs from their allotted 20 overs. The Velocity Team was wonderful with the bowling. They successfully broke the mini opening stand and triggered the middle order collapse, which didn’t allow the batsmen of Supernovas to score runs in full flow. Ekta Bisht was the pick of the bowlers for the Velocity Team. She laid the foundation of the first win for them as he picked up three wickets and the other bowlers like Jahanara Alam and Kasperk supported Bisht well. Alam and Kapserk bagged two wickets each to their names.

The run chase of Velocity didn’t start well as they lost the wicket of Danielle Wyatt for no score. Shefali Verma gave some momentum when she hit four boundaries in her innings of 17 runs, which came from just 11 deliveries. But that momentum wasn’t carried along nicely. Then the wicket of the skipper Mithali Raj had put the Velocity team under immense pressure. The captain was dismissed for just seven runs. The middle-order batsmen like Veda Krishnamurthy, Sushma Verma and Sune Luus contributed well, which brought the innings right on track for Velocity.

Krishnamurthy scored vital 34 runs from 33 deliveries. But she was dismissed at the wrong time when some runs were still required. Sushma Verma and  Sune Luus brought the Velocity back in the contest with a healthy stand of 51 runs.

But Sushama Verma was dismissed for 34 runs when still ten runs were required. Her knock of 34 runs had given new hope for the Velocity team in the challenging run chase. It was Sune Luus who took the team home with the unbeaten knock of 37 runs along with Shikha Pandey who was not out on two runs.

sune luus icc
Image Source: ICC Twitter

Velocity team opened their account with a challenging win in the run chase. They win this encounter by five wickets. The Supernovas Bowlers tried hard, but the target wasn’t a big one that would have been successfully defended. Ayabonga Khaka picked up two wickets to her name while Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav, and Shasikala Siriwardene picked up one wicket each to their name.

Sune Luus was awarded the player of the match for her outstanding unbeaten of 37 runs in the challenging run chase which allowed Velocity to win the first match of the competition.

The next Match of Women T20 Challenge will be played today between Velocity and Trailblazers at 3.30 PM IST and the Indian Premier League Qualifier one will be played between Mumbai Indians Vs Delhi Capitals in Dubai at 7.30 PM IST.


Also Read: SRH coast their ship home into the playoffs by beating MI



Previous articleIPL 2020: SRH coast their ship home into the playoffs by beating MI
Next articlePaul Pogba – Can he be Unlocked ?

Leave a Reply