Home TEAMS AUSTRALIA Women’s Big Bash League 2020 – Sydney Thunders Women Beat Melbourne Stars...

Women’s Big Bash League 2020 – Sydney Thunders Women Beat Melbourne Stars Women to seal their second BBL Trophy


The Sydney Thunders Women’s Team are the champions of Women’s Big Bash League in 2020. Sydney Women displayed a clinical performance against Melbourne Stars in the final match of the tournament and won the game by seven wickets to win their second BBL title.

Sydney Thunder Players Celebration (Image Source: Twitter)

Shabnim Ismail and Sammy-Jo Johnson delivered thunders bolts from the Sydney Women’s team with the ball as Melbourne Stars managed to score 86 runs in this final encounter. Then the double-digit score was chased down relatively quickly in the 13.4 overs by the Sydney Thunders team.

Melbourne Stars won the toss and opted to bat first. But it was a superb bowling performance from the Sydney Thunders team, which kept them in the game. Melbourne managed to score just three runs from two overs, although Meg Lanning was dropped early in her innings.

Elyse Villani was out in the third over. She took 11 deliveries to score just one run to her name. Then, Meg Lanning struck one four, and six to bring the momentum back in their favor. But the Sydney team got an early wicket which they wanted.

Stars could score just twenty runs from the first six overs as Mignon du Preez was dismissed for only four runs by Johnson before the power play overs were done. In the next over, Ismail picked up the wicket of Lanning for 15 runs and gave Stars another big blow.

The runs were dried in the middle overs for Melbourne. They managed to score just 36 runs after they reached the tenth over mark. Annabel Sutherland and Katherine Brunt were the only ones who batted like star batsmen for Melbourne.

Sutherland was the only woman to score 20 runs in this match, and Burnt was the top scorer of this game with 22 runs to her name. Melbourne went past the 50 run mark, but Sutherland was out quickly after that.

Things went from bad to worse as the middle, and the lower order of Melbourne just managed to score runs in single digits. In a much important game like the final, Sydney Thunders bowling was terrific. Due to that Melbourne Stars managed 86 runs on the board.

Shabnim Ismail and Sammy-Jo Johnson picked up two wickets to their names. At the same time, Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, and Heather Knight were the other three bowlers who picked up one wicket each to their names.

The run chase of 87 runs was easy for the Sydney Thunders team. But they lost three wickets to achieve this target. They had a decent start of 24 runs to their innings. Tammy Beaumont was the first one to be dismissed for 16 runs.

Rachel Trenaman and Heather Knight brought Sydney close to the target. But Rachel couldn’t finish the game in style for the team with Heather was still there at the non-strikers’ end. Rachel was out on 22 runs.

Thunders got another blow when Sammy-Jo Johnson was dismissed on one run. But Rachel Haynes, the skipper of Sydney Thunders women’s team gave excellent support to Heather Knight who helped the Sydney team to chase down this low score.

Heather Knight was the top scorer for the Sydney Thunders team. She was unbeaten on 28 runs and the skipper Rachel Haynes was not out 21 runs to see their side through to a famous win of seven wickets in the BBL final. This win also allowed Sydney Thunders to clinch their second BBL title.

Katherine Brunt, Alana King, and Tess Flintoff picked up one wicket each to their names and they tried their best to defend the low score for Melbourne Stars. But this wasn’t to be on the night of the final for them.

Shabnim Ismail was named the woman of the match for her brilliant bowling performance, which set the tone for this magnificent win in the final.

India Vs Australia – The 2nd ODI of the three-match series will be played on Sunday 29th November 2020 at SCG – Sydney Cricket Ground. Sony Six will show the live telecast of the match at 9.10 AM IST, 3.40 AM GMT and 2.40 PM Local.



Previous articleISL 2020-21: The first 0-0 of the season as Bengaluru and Hyderabad disappoint at Fatorda
Next articleISL 2020-21: Late heroics from Mauricio helps Odisha to a 2-2 draw against Jamshedpur

Leave a Reply