Home TEAMS AUSTRALIA IND vs AUS 2020: Virat Kohli becomes first Indian captain to win...

IND vs AUS 2020: Virat Kohli becomes first Indian captain to win T20I series in all SENA countries

Hardik and Shreyas 2nd T20I
‘I want to finish games when it matters the most,’ says Hardik Pandya (Image source: Twitter)

The 2nd T20I between Australia and India was played in Sydney. This time around there was a change as the ground was allowed to be operated at its full capacity. Thus the spectators came in huge numbers and they got to witness one of the highest run-scoring encounters between the 2 sides. In the end, Hardik Pandya managed to get the Indian Cricket team across the finish line and thus ensured another T20I series win for his side.

Coming into this contest, India were up 1-0 and had a chance to bag a win as well as bag the T20I series. Australia on the other hand had a new captain for this game who filled in for Aaron Finch. Matthew Wade the Aussie skipper lost the toss and his side was put to bat first by Kohli.

Australia have a great start as Matthew Wade goes ballistic:

Coming on to bat alongside D’Arcy Short kept hitting the boundaries in parts of the ground and troubled the Indian bowlers a lot. D’Arcy Short could chip in much as he departed early. Wade kept going as Steve Smith looked to set himself in, Wade managed to score 58 runs in 32 balls in which he hit 10 fours and 1 six.

He, unfortunately, lost his wicket in the worst possible way. He hit a leading edge straight to the Indian skipper. Wade charged for a run but gave up midway thinking Kohli took the catch. However, Kohli dropped the catch and threw the ball to KL Rahul as Wade was stranded in the middle.

Australian middle-order chips in, T Natarajan has another good outing and was the most economical bowler for India:

After Wade’s dismissal, Smith took over and kept the scored board ticking he scored 46 runs in 38 balls. Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, and Marcus Stoinis chipped in 22, 26, and 16 runs respectively to the total Thus helping the Aussies reach 194/5 in their 20 overs.

For India, T Natarajan the left-arm pacer was the most economical bowler in this innings as he conceded just 20 runs in his 4 overs. He also managed to add 2 wickets to his tally. He adapted to the pitch really well and tweaked his lines and lengths to trouble the Australian batters.

T Natarajan 2nd T20I Ind vs Aus 2020
In a high scoring game, Natarajan bowls at an economy of 5 (Image source: Twitter)

India have the perfect start to the run chase:

Opening the batting for India, KL Rahul, and Shikhar Dhawan started hitting the early boundaries and kept up with the required run rate. Rahul managed to score 30 runs before he was dismissed. Dhawan looked in good nick as he reached his half-century and scored 52. He kept scoring as Virat Kohli looked to set himself in.

Once Dhawan departed, Kohli took the charge and kept getting the boundaries. Sanju Samson who came up the order could not do much as he perished in trying to get the boundaries and scored 15 runs. Hardik Pandya started slowly as Virat was being the aggressor.

Hardik Pandya showed his prowess and helped the Indian Cricket team clinch he T20I series:

Once Kohli departed at the start of the 17th over on 40 runs. Pandya took on the mantle and got the boundaries when it mattered. Shreyas Iyer alongside him also collected a couple of crucial boundaries in the 18th over which allowed their side to stay in the hunt.

Andrew Tye who bowled the penultimate over was also belted for a couple of boundaries. Both these batsmen also ran the ones and twos and brought the equation to 12 runs needed from the final over. Hardik in the final over then just clobbered 2 sixes and finished it off in style as he dawns the role of the finisher.

Virat Kohli has been quite successful as a captain in the game’s shortest format:

With this series win, Kohli led Men in Blue have now won all the series in SENA countries. Yesterday marked the series win for Virat Kohli and Co in Australia. Earlier in the year, India had managed to defeat New Zealand. In 2018, they also won the T20I series against England 2-1. Before their tour to England, Virat Kohli and Co. had won a T20I series against South Africa in February 2018.




Previous articleISL 2020-21: NorthEast United takes three points after 2-0 win over East Bengal
Next articlePV Sindhu feels 100 percent training in the UK, aiming for gold at Tokyo

Leave a Reply