Home CRICKET Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ishan Kishan & Tilak Varma grab the headlines with...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ishan Kishan & Tilak Varma grab the headlines with smashing tons


Jharkhand’s captain and opening batsman Ishan Kishan provided a grand start to the Vijay Hazare Trophy season by scoring 173 off 94 with 11 monstrous sixes while Hyderabad’s Tilak Varma scored a graceful 156 as both teams got off to a flying start. Gujarat, Baroda, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh & Uttar Pradesh also got off to a winning start in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021.

Ishan Kishan also had 7 dismissals as a Wicket-keeper to add to his blistering knock (Image Source: Twitter.com)

Jharkhand were put in to bat by Madhya Pradesh and MP had instant success getting rid of Utkarsh Singh for only 6 runs in the third over. Ishan Kishan got into his groove and started to dominate the bowlers. He along with Kumar Kushagra built a solid 113 runs partnership in 16.2 overs before Kushagra fell prey to Shubham Sharma.

Virat Singh came out to bat on a flat wicket at the Holkar Stadium with positive intent and that allowed Ishan Kishan to flex his muscles into the innings. With 19 boundaries, each more gorgeous than the other and 11 cracking sixes, Ishan Kishan made 173 runs in no time before he lost his wicket. Virat Singh, Sumit Kumar, and an excellent knock at the end from Anukul Roy who scored 72 of just 39 balls ensured Jharkhand got to a mammoth 422/9 in their 50 overs.

Ishan Kishan was back in the headlines again during the MP batting as he took 7 catches in the innings behind the stump as Varun Aaron took 6 wickets. Jharkhand bowling tore the Madhya Pradesh batting apart for just 98 runs in 18.4 overs to win big by 324 runs. Ishan Kishan was undoubtedly the Best Player of the Match.

Another left-handed batsman from an India U-19 setup stole the show in Surat for his Hyderabad team who beat Tripura by 113 runs. It was a fantastic display of batting by Hyderabad’s Tilak Varma who scored 156 runs of just 145 balls with a strike rate of 107.59. His innings included 10 fours and 5 sixes and Tilak Varma along with Tanmay Agarwal and Bavanaka Sandeep helped Hyderabad reach a massive score of 349/5 after which they wrapped up Tripura for 236 thanks to the efforts of Chama Milind who took 5 wickets.

An all-around batting effort by Gujarat helped them chase down the target of 232 set for them by Chattisgarh. Baroda’s Vishnu Solanki scored 108 of 132 balls as they chased down Goa’s 263 with 9 balls to spare. Gurkeerat Singh Mann scored 139 of 121 balls which helped Punjab set a target of 289 for Tamil Nadu and the SMAT Champions chased in down in the final over with initial heroics from Jagadeesan and Baba Aparajith but it was Auction Day Hero Shahrukh Khan who scored a quickfire 55 of 36 to get his team over the line.

Uttar Pradesh beat Karnataka by 9 runs considering the VJD method as the full course of 50 overs couldn’t be completed. Robin Uthappa’s 107 ensured a Kerala victory by the VJD method over Odisha. Mrunal Devdhar’s 105 and Pratham Singh’s 72 ensured that the Railways beat Bihar by 10 wickets after chasing down the target of 190 in just 29 overs. Faiz Fazal & Yash Rathod scored tons as Vidharba set a target of 332 to chase but Andhra Pradesh pulled it off in the final over thanks to a top-class hundred by Ricky Bhui.

Stay tuned for more updates on the Vijay Hazare Trophy!


Also Read: Reliving the 161 by Rohit Sharma – A Fan’s Point of View



Previous articleISL Update: Roy Krishna stars as ATK Mohun Bagan do the double over SC East Bengal
Next articleISL Update: Jamshedpur FC beat Mumbai City FC 2-0 as woes continue for Sergio Lobera
Manchester United Supporter and unconditional love for the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply