Home CRICKET Vijay Hazare Trophy: Krunal Pandya scores 127, Karnataka steamroll Bihar & Sreesanth’s...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Krunal Pandya scores 127, Karnataka steamroll Bihar & Sreesanth’s 5-fer


Baroda’s Captain and star all-rounder Krunal Pandya created major headlines on Monday in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as Baroda beat Tripura on the back of his 127 runs in only 97 balls with included 20 fours and a six in the run-chase. Karnataka’s Ravikumar Samarth also scored 158 runs against Bihar as the defending champions won by 267 runs.

Krunal Pandya had a successful comeback into the team scoring his first century in this edition (Image Source: Twitter.com)

Tripura batted first against Baroda as their opening pair made an 88-run stand. Udiyan Bose, Bishal Ghosh, and Captain Manishankar Murasingh ensured that Tripura reached 302/7 at the end of 50 overs. Baroda were 13/2 in the third over of their run-chase as they lost both Smit Patel and Kedar Devdhar early on. Vishnu Solanki and Abhimanyusingh Rajput had a 53 run partnership before Krunal Pandya stepped onto the pitch. He smashed 20 fours and a six with a strike rate of 130.93 as Krunal and Solanki had a 168-run partnership while Krunal scored 127 runs and finished the match with an over to spare.

Karnataka batted first against Bihar and had a flying start with a 153-run opening partnership between Devdutt Padikkal and Captain Ravikumar Samarth. Padikkal lost his wicket just three runs short of his ton but Samarth got together with Siddharth and stitched another 174 runs partnership in 19 overs. The innings ended at 354/3 with Ravikumar Samarth scoring a smashing 158 runs off 144 balls with 15 fours and a six. Prasidh Krishna created havoc with the ball for Karnataka with 4 wickets as they wrapped up Bihar for only 87 runs in a comprehensive Karnataka win.

Ankit Yadav’s late resurgence with the bat ensured that Odisha reached a total of 230 runs at the end of their innings but Mrunal Devdhar, Pratham Singh, Shivam Chaudhary & Arindam Ghosh ensured that Railways reached the target in the 45th over beating Odisha by 8 wickets. Priyam Garg, Abhishek Goswami & Akshdeep Nath made half-centuries for Uttar Pradesh in their total of 283 against Kerala for whom Sreesanth took 6/65. Robin Uthappa & Sachin Baby’s innings ensured that Kerala chased down the target with an over to spare.

Madhya Pradesh skipper Parth Sahani and Aditya Shrivastava took the team to a total of 243/9 which was chased down by an all-round batting performance by Vidharba as they won the game with an over to spare. Harpreet Singh & Ashutosh Singh scored fifties while a quick-fire 22 from Shubham Agarwal took Chhattisgarh to 242 in 50 overs. Hyderabad skipper Tanmay Agarwal scored 122 along with good innings from Tilak Varma and Himalay Agarwal took Hyderabad comfortably over the line with 56 balls to spare.

Andhra Pradesh beat Tamil Nadu by 7 wickets chasing down 177 in just 29 overs. Jharkhand scored 217/9 while batting first and beat Punjab by 2 runs in a close match. Gujarat beat Goa in a low-scoring match by 8 wickets. Stay Tuned for all the action in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021!


Also Read: Shaw back in form, Bengal beat Services & Jani takes Saurashtra over the line


Previous articleISL Update: Hyderabad FC stop ATK Mohun Bagan from claiming the ISL Shield
Next articleWhat’s next for Michael Chandler?
Manchester United Supporter and unconditional love for the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply