Home CRICKET Vijay Hazare Trophy: Nitish Rana scores 137 while Rishi Dhawan with a...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Nitish Rana scores 137 while Rishi Dhawan with a 6-fer and a quickfire 73


Delhi posted a massive total of 354 while batting first against Puducherry with Nitish Rana scoring an aggressive 137 with 21 fours and a six and won the match by 179 runs. Himachal Pradesh skipper Rishi Dhawan gave an all-round performance in Jaipur helping his team wrap up Rajasthan for just 199 by taking six wickets and also scoring 73 runs in a successful run-chase.

Rishi Dhawan bowling figures against Rajasthan: 8.5-1-27-6 (Image Source: BCCI Twitter)

Delhi batted first against Puducherry and lost Shikhar Dhawan and Himmat Singh in the 6th over of the inning. While Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana showed caution early on, Rana eased into his inning quicker with some stylish boundaries on both sides of the wicket. Shorey also joined the party soon as both of them put a massive 255 runs stand in about 35 overs. Nitish Rana scored an aesthetically pleasing 137 runs off just 106 balls which included 21 fours and a six with a strike rate of 129.25. Dhruv Shorey scored a 132 while Kshitiz Sharma’s 27 off 20 and Lalit Yadav’s 33 off 21 took Delhi to a massive 354. Kulwant Khejroliya took 4 wickets for Delhi as Puducherry were wrapped up for a misery total of 175.

Rajasthan batted against Himachal Pradesh in the first inning at Jaipur. Rishi Dhawan & Vaibhav Arora got a couple of early wickets for Himachal after which Ashok Menaria, Arjit Gupta & Mahipal Lomror added stability to the inning. Rishi Dhawan took the 6th wicket of the inning in the 46th over and took a couple more wickets in the same over. Rishi Dhawan added to his wickets tally by taking a couple of wickets in the next over to wrap up Rajasthan for 199/10 from 187/5. Rishi Dhawan came back out with the bat and played some gorgeous drives and thumping pull shots on his way to a match-winning 73 runs off 64 balls which included 11 fours and a six.

Yash Nahar and Azim Kazi smashed tons in Maharashtra’s total of 279/9 in fifty overs with Dhawal Kulkarni getting 5 wickets with the ball for Mumbai. On the back of Shreyas Iyer’s 103 off 99 and Shivam Dube’s 47 off 39, Mumbai successfully chased down the total winning by 6 wickets and with 16 balls to spare.

Haryana managed to pile up a competitive total of 264 in their allotted 50 overs after batting first courtesy of Chaitanya Bishnoi’s gritty 84 runs off 116 balls. Chetan Sakariya who was bought big at the IPL Auction 2021 took 3 wickets in this match for Saurashtra. Snell Patel’s 79 along with a very late cameo with the bat by Saurashtra captain Jaydev Unadkat of 39 runs from 24 balls which included 3 sixes took them over the line to a victory.

Ravi Chauhan scored played a positive inning of 118 for Services which got the big finish from Pulkit Narang and no.11 batter Diwesh Pathania who scored 42 off 21 to set a total of 274 on the board after batting first. SRH star Abdul Samad scored 63 runs off just 38 balls which was a catalyst in the run-chase for Jammu & Kashmir as Shubham Khajuria scored 84 and Shubham Pundir scored 56 to win the game with 15 balls to spare.

In other results, Meghalaya beat Sikkim by 88 runs, Nagaland beat Mizoram by 29 runs, Uttarakhand beat Manipur by 7 wickets and Chandigarh beat Bengal by 5 wickets. Stay Tuned for the coverage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021!


Also Read: Krunal Pandya scores 127, Karnataka steamroll Bihar & Sreesanth’s 5-fer

Previous articleSwiss Open 2021: Sindhu-Marin clash likely?
Next articleThe Origins of MMA
Manchester United Supporter and unconditional love for the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply