Home CRICKET Vijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw 227, Krunal Pandya 133, Padikkal with another...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw 227, Krunal Pandya 133, Padikkal with another ton & Solanki’s debut 5-fer


Mumbai’s stand-in captain and opening batsman Prithvi Shaw scored a swashbuckling double hundred against Puducherry while Suryakumar Yadav also scored an express century and debutant Prashant Solanki took a 5-for 48 on Thursday. In today’s games, notable tons from Krunal Pandya from Baroda, Priyam Garg from Uttar Pradesh, Prabhsimran Singh from Punjab, and Devdutt Padikkal from Karnataka lit up the action in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Prithvi Shaw scored his highest ever List A score of 227 in Jaipur on Thursday (Image Source: BCCI Domestic Twitter)

Mumbai were put in to bat by Puducherry at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Thursday. After losing the wicket of Jaiswal post a 50-run opening stand, Aditya Tare joined his skipper Prithvi Shaw at the crease as Shaw decided to put his foot on the accelerator in an attempt to express his natural game while the former captain gave him due support.

A 153-run stand saw Prithvi Shaw get to his century while Tare also scored a fifty before losing his stumps. The platform was well set for Suryakumar Yadav to come and unleash which is exactly what SKY did as he started to flex his muscles from ball one and made his intentions very clear. While Surya was very comfortable with the shorter lengths, Prithvi Shaw kept cutting, driving, pulling, and dismissing every ball from his presence. The partnership was of a massive 201 runs in which Suryakumar made a lightning-quick 133 runs off 58 balls which included 22 fours and 4 stunning sixes.

Prithvi Shaw continued on his mission to amass a massive score for himself and his side. Mumbai scored a mammoth 457/4 at the end of 50 overs with Prithvi Shaw having his best ever List-A score of 227 runs off 152 balls. That stunning inning from the Mumbai skipper included 31 fours and 5 sixes. Mumbai’s total was the highest-ever achieved in a 50-over List-A game or above on Indian soil surpassing the record previously set by South Africa in Mumbai.

Mumbai’s debutant Prashant Solanki took to his first game like “a fish to water” as the Leg-spinner bowled beautifully to get Puducherry captain Rohit D along with Dogra, Subikshan, Rajiv, and Udeshi in a wonderful spell of 10-0-48-5. The dream debut for him will mean further positive signs for Mumbai cricket as they look to build on an attacking bowling line-up in the upcoming years.

Mumbai’s newest Leg-spinner Prashant Solanki impressed on his List-A debut against Puducherry (Image Source: BCCI Domestic Twitter)

Vidharba batted first at Indore on what seemed a beautiful batting wicket at Indore today as the opener and captain Faiz Fazal scored a wonderful 101 runs off 99 balls which included 9 fours and 4 cracking sixes. After his wicket in the 31st over, Vidarbha’s inning lost the impetus but Ganesh Satish and Akshay Wadkar scored 78 and 63 respectively to take Vidarbha to 290/9. Siddharth Kaul and Harpreet Brar took 4 wickets each for Punjab.

The run-chase was on for Punjab who have been in decent form with the bat off-late. Despite the string of low scores around the young opening batsman, Prabhsimran Singh managed to pull off an extraordinary inning of 167 runs in just 140 balls which included 13 fours and 9 sixes worth double their weight. Punjab managed to win on the back of his inning by 4 wickets and 13 balls to spare.

Kerala batted first against Karnataka and lost in-form Robin Uthappa on the first ball of the inning as Vathsal Govind and Sachin Baby took over the responsibility of building the inning for them. Baby was out for 54 and Govind was out soon at 94 but Mohanned Azharuddeen scored a 38-ball 59 with 2 fours and 3 sixes to ensure that Kerala got a respectable score of 277/8. Abhimanyu Mithun got 5 wickets with the ball for Karnataka as it seemed like they had managed to restrict Kerala to a below-par total.

Karnataka skipper Samarth and Devdutt Padikkal seemed to be building an unbreakable partnership at the start of the inning in this edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy but Samarth lost his wicket for 62 runs as the score was 99/1. Krishnamurthy Siddharth joined Padikkal and the no.3 scored a well-paced knock of 86 runs. The headline maker though was yet again Devdutt Padikkal who took his team through by scoring a sensational 126 runs off 138 balls which included 13 fours and 2 sixes as Karnataka made the target of 278 look very easy by chasing it down with 27 balls to spare.

Baroda skipper Krunal Pandya scored his second century in three matches in this edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy (Image Source: Twitter.com)

After getting the opportunity to bat first, Baroda were reeling at 92/4 when Vishnu Solanki and Krunal Pandya got together in an attempt to get the inning back on track for them. Vishnu Solanki played with a cautious strike rate of 78.79 for his score of 78 off 99 balls, but it was Krunal Pandya who expectedly so put his foot down to be the anchor as well as the catalyst of the Baroda inning. Krunal scored 133 runs off 100 balls which included 20 fours and 3 sixes.

Krunal was joined by Atit Sheth who powered home a 16-ball 51 which included 7 mammoth sixes and Baroda ended on 332/6 in their 50 overs. Chhatisgarh were equally good in the way they structured their run-chase with Khare, Ashutosh, and Mandal scoring fifties but still fell short of the Baroda score by 13 runs.

Priyam Garg was the star for Uttar Pradesh today with the bat as the right-handed batsman looked in great flow during his inning. He scored 115 runs in just 99 balls which included 16 fours and 2 sixes. Akshdeep Nath also made 93 runs while a 17-ball 34 from Sameer Choudhary and a 14-ball 30 from skipper Bhuvneshwar Kumar meant that UP posted a massive total of 346/6 in their 50 overs. Shivam Chaudhary was the only excellent performer with the bat in the run-chase for Railways with his 107 but Shivam Mavi’s spell of 9-0-51-4 ensured a 70 runs victory for Uttar Pradesh.

Stay tuned to “The Sports Doyen” for all the coverage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021!


Also Read: Devdutt Padikkal smashes 152 while Uthappa’s century gives Kerala the win


Previous articleISL Update: Jamshedpur FC hold on to edge a 5-goal thriller in Vasco against Bengaluru FC
Next articleISL Update: Northeast United qualify for the semi-finals after a 2-0 win against Kerala Blasters
Manchester United Supporter and unconditional love for the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply