Home CRICKET Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shikhar Dhawan 153, Prerak Mankad 174, Shreyas Iyer 116...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shikhar Dhawan 153, Prerak Mankad 174, Shreyas Iyer 116 & Bengal’s Big Win


A day of humongous centuries in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Saturday as Shikhar Dhawan had a welcome return to form with a match-winning 153 for Delhi in a steep run-chase against Maharashtra. Prerak Mankad had an inning of a lifetime for Saurashtra against Chandigarh, Shreyas Iyer scored back-to-back centuries for Mumbai while Bengal won big in an important clash against Jammu & Kashmir.

With 21 fours and a six, Shikhar Dhawan helped Delhi chase down a massive total. (Image Source: BCCI Domestic Twitter)

Maharashtra played Delhi in an important clash as the winner would get a massive boost for qualification to the next round in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Maharashtra batted first and were 126-3 at the halfway mark of their inning after the wicket of Yash Nahar. Kedar Jadhav and Azim Kazi got together to build a 98 run partnership in just 88 balls as Jadhav got out for a well-made 86 off 81 balls with 10 fours in his inning. Azim Kazi kept smashing the ball all over the park as Maharashtra’s inning ended at 328/7 in 50 overs with Kazi getting 91 off just 73 balls.

Delhi’s Shikhar Dhawan didn’t have an inspiring tournament until that point but managed to get off to a good start in the run-chase. Shikhar Dhawan and Dhruv Shorey put up a 136 run partnership in 133 balls at the start of the inning as Shorey lost his wicket on 61. While the rest of the Delhi batsman only got off to small starts and lost their wicket, Shikhar Dhawan was firing all cylinders for Delhi. The opening batsman scored 153 runs off just 118 balls which included 21 fours and a six. After Shikhar Dhawan lost his wicket with the Delhi score at 298, Lalit Yadav ensured a Delhi win in the final over.

Saurashtra batted first against Chandigarh as Snell Patel and Avi Barot got out after making decent starts for them. Vishvaraj Jadeja scored a 50 off 53 balls in his 111-run partnership with Prerak Mankad. After Arpit Vasavada took the crease, Prerak Mankad really unleashed himself with some stunning shots on both sides of the wicket. Mankad looked comfortable on the front-foot and back-foot as he smashed a hundred. Mankad scored 174 off 130 balls with 16 fours and 6 massive sixes which along with Vasavada’s 71 and Chirag Jani’s 10-ball 30 took Saurashtra to 388/7 in their 50 overs.

Arslan Khan, Manan Vohra, Ankit Kaushik & Gaurav Gambhir made notable contributions for Chandigarh but they fell short of the target by 62 runs as Saurashtra maintained their perfect record in the group and made it to 16 points with this massive victory while Chandigarh remained on 12 points but now with a negative net run-rate.

Mumbai captain Shreyas Iyer scored his 2nd century in a row in the Vijay Hazare Trophy (Image Source: Cricbuzz Twitter)

Mumbai had the opportunity to put up a big total on the board yet again when they played Rajasthan in Jaipur. The record Ranji champions obliged as after Shaw and Jaiswal’s 71 run opening stand in the first 10 overs, Shreyas Iyer capitalized on his good nick as he smashed the Rajasthan bowlers all over the park in his 116 runs off 103 balls which included 11 fours and 3 sixes. The Mumbai Captain has looked assured at No.4 which will be a huge relief for the Indian National setup. Mahipal Lomror scored 76 off just 69 balls in the only notable contribution in the Rajasthan run-chase as they were all out for just 250 runs in a massive 67 runs victory for Mumbai.

Abhimanyu Easwaran scored 99 while Anustup Majumdar scored 92 off 84 balls for Bengal as they posted 368/4 against Jammu and Kashmir in their game on Saturday. Shahbaz Ahmed also scored 48 off just 17 balls to finish the inning for Bengal with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Abid Mushtaq made the only contribution of any substance for J&K in their run-chase as they fell short of the Bengal total by 82 runs.

Stay tuned to “The Sports Doyen” for all the coverage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021!


Also Read: Prithvi Shaw 227, Krunal Pandya 133, Padikkal with another ton & Solanki’s debut 5-fer

Previous articleISL Update: Odisha FC signs off the season with a staggering 6-5 victory over SC East Bengal
Next articleISL Update: Fall, Ogbeche outclass ATK Mohun Bagan to guide Mumbai City FC claim the ACL spot
Manchester United Supporter and unconditional love for the beautiful game.

Leave a Reply